What’s In a Name? [Evidently a lot!]

Thought I’d take a moment today for some housekeeping. 🙂 There’s so many fun things I like to write about….and so many fun things I want to share with you. For instance:  did you know that every time we go to a fast food restaurant Handsome likes to get creative with the kid meal toys? {See below….he was excited to make them tango.}

Or things about me, like…….my knees are almost always fuzzy, because even after decades of shaving I don’t seem to have the hang of knees. {I’ll spare you the picture for that one…..}

How about how to pronounce my name.  That’s a big one.  Many people botch it.  First of all……my name is spelled:  D. a. u. n. e.

Phonics, people, phonics!  ‘au’ says “aw” and e’s on the end of words are USUALLY silent in this crazy English language. {Unless we are in France.  I wish we were in France, but we are not right now. If we were in France you could make the ‘e’ say whatever you wanted it to.}

I get a lot of goofs with my name—and lots of people have e-mailed me to find out about it.  I think there’s even been a few people that think I am a guy.  {See above fuzzy knee thingy and maybe that will set that one straight. :)}  I’m really gonna have to get a picture on this blog somewhere.  The head shots I’ve tried to add so far have been fuzzy, so back to the drawing board.

So, housekeeping for today is: “How to pronounce my name”.  My FEMALE name.  [hint, hint…did ya catch it?] Let’s start with what it IS NOT {but I’m often called or referred to}:

Diane

Danny

Doo-Ann {huh?}

Dwayne

Day-nee {what in the world!?}

Don

My name is:  Daune….pronounced like ‘Dawn’. 🙂

There you have it!  You are now in the know!  You will sleep better tonight with this knowledge…I feel sure.

Sweet Dreams~

 

 

PS  That thingy at the end of my name is a heart. I have signed my name with a heart since second grade.  Just so you wouldn’t think I added another letter to whole crazy name situation. 🙂

4 thoughts on “What’s In a Name? [Evidently a lot!]

  1. It’s both fun and kind of annoying every time people mess up with a name’s pronunciation. Fun, because of the variety of names they churn out and annoying because you have to reintroduce yourself over and over again. Haha.

    My name’s ia, which is pronounced ‘aya’, and I’ve had a lot of trouble with other people with regards to how it’s said. So I know how you feel. Hahaha. 😀

Love to hear from you guys.......

