A Celebration

A couple of weeks ago we had a 70th Birthday Party for my dad

here at our cottage. It was a special day.

To celebrate someone that has always cared and nurtured me,

quietly guided me, and been patient with me was an honor.

Here’s a little peak at the day……

I love how the sun comes into our dining room around lunch time…..

A while ago I began collecting antique silver,

and I love this charger ……

And this antique hotel silver salt and pepper server.

And the napkin rings that say “Friends and Family”

We enjoy our French cafe sidewalk chalkboards/signs….

the large one that Handsome made on the front porch,

and this tabletop one that he made

{now available in our etsy shop}

For the party we wrote:

“Count your age in Friends, not years.”

And another one with Happy Birthday…

After a lunch of Chicken Tortilla Soup, homemade bread, fruit tea,

and homemade mini apple pie pockets {my dad’s favorite}

we enjoyed the rest of our time in front of

a warm fire….watching him open presents,

and having great fellowship with his friends and family.

A sign of much fun had:

Memory-making is so fun~

Sharing our celebration with these lovely places:  Skip to My LouSumo’s Sweet StuffTip Junkie,Today’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickHouse of Hepworth’sRemodelaholicFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaStuff and NonsenseCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsCreations by KaraYesterday on TuesdayOrganize and Decorate Everything,  2805Making the World CuterThe Girl CreativeCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkFireflies & JellybeansFingerprints on the FridgeTatertots & JelloBe Different Act NormalI Heart Naptime, Serenity Now, Chatty Chics, No Minimalist Here, DIY By Design, Savvy Southern Style, Coastal Charm, My Romantic Home

11 thoughts on “A Celebration

  1. What a wonderful party! Beautiful pictures, too. My favorite is the sign, “Count your age in friends, not years.” I had to stop by from HoH because we are celebrating my dad’s 60th this Saturday. Great ideas!

  2. What a lovely celebration! I had an 80th Birthday lunch for my dad this summer. One of my fondest memories was standing looking out on my patio and seeing all my father’s long time friends there with him…it was a lovely day as I am sure your was as well!

    Would love for you to share and post this party on my website or anything creative at http://www.ohmy-creative.com.

    Have a great day!
    Susan,
    http://www.ohmy-creative.com/
    A community to Create – Share – Inspire

  3. SO clever and what attention to detail! I LOVE the cloches with the special contents and the chalkboards — it sure looks like a lot of great memories were made that day!

Love to hear from you guys.......

