Spring Mantel

I am still learning how to take pictures in this room.

It is not as dark as it looks…but the way the light

comes in makes it hard to not get grainy  pics!

{Correction….I’m still learning how to

take pictures in general! ha!}

A few weeks ago we decided to paint the new mantel

white….and I love it! We’ve been all about lightening

up around here for several months.

For those of you not with us last summer…

we had been looking for an old mantel for a very long time.

A local church had this one in storage and GAVE it to us!

It is over 150 years old and came out of an antebellum

home that weathered the Civil War…just like the brick and

floors of our cottage.  We just love it!

Here’s some fun pics of our spring mantel….

Our pussywillow tree is finally big enough for

me to be able to cut branches and force them inside. Yay!

So we put two big vases of them on either side of the mantel.

I love bee skeps…..and this is a little mini one.

*****

On another note….have you guys ever checked out the live Eagle Cam?

We enjoy watching it each spring.

Our kids LOVE it! {Me, too!}

The eagles just began mating last week…

soon their will be eggs that you can watch LIVE…

hatch, grow, eaglets being fed, etc.

Check it out here and bookmark it.

Check back several times a day….it is a live cam.

You will want to keep it on all day once the eaglets hatch…

it becomes addicting. 🙂

*****

We had fun getting our Easter decorations out yesterday.

Isn’t it fun getting decorations out….it’s almost like a walk

down memory lane.  Lots of “Do you remember when we use

to do ____ with this?” And “I completely forgot about satin bunny!”

Do you decorate for spring or Easter?

Until tomorrow~

Sharing with:  Skip to My LouTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsOrganize and Decorate Everything,  2805Making the World CuterThe Girl CreativeCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkFingerprints on the FridgeTatertots & JelloSerenity NowNo Minimalist HereSavvy Southern Style, Coastal CharmMy Romantic HomeRedoux504 Main733 BlogWe Are That FamilyCreating Really Awesome Free Things,  The Charm of HomeDelightsome LifeAnything Goes

20 thoughts on “Spring Mantel

    • Thanks, Karen…it has been one of my favorite additions to our living room redo. We homeschool…and my 3 children gave it to me at the end of the school year last year. 🙂

    • LaVonna~

      I love the clock, too! It was a gift from my 3 children at the end of the school year last year. 🙂 {They know how to pick presents!} I think they found it at Pier 1, believe it or not!

  1. thanks for giving me the info on where your kids bought your clock at. I called all over & the nearest Pier 1 that had it was 40 minutes away. (LOL) On their website the clock showed it was on sale from $199.00 to $149.00 plus tax. Picked it up this afternoon & it is now hanging in my front entry. Can’t say I let grass grow under my feet. 🙂 I owe you lunch!! Thanks again. Love it!

  2. I LOVE your antique mantel! Such a lucky find and for FREE! I also like all the natural elements you used in your mantel display. Just lovely.
    Sharla

    (visiting from tatertots & jello)

Love to hear from you guys.......

