Chalkboard Lidded Jars

I just love little jars….and fun ways to

store things or give as gifts.

If I have a jar that is a neat shape and I know I

can get the label off easily, I always save it.

{A great way to get labels off easily is to wash

the jars in the dishwasher…whatever doesn’t

automatically come off will come off easily

when it comes out of the dishwasher.}

My favorite little jars are the pimiento jars….

2 oz. and 4 oz.

They are so cute!

Here’s a fun way to create your own

fun storage jars…basically for free!

Save jars from food items you

already use, get the labels off

and then spray the lids with chalkboard paint.

{1 can costs between $3-$4….and will paint

probably 40 jar lids!}

Here’s what you need:

Chalkboard spray paint

saved jars with labels removed

Here’s how ya do it:

1.  Put your lids on newspaper…ready to spray.

2.  Spray lids with 2-3 coats of chalkboard paint

{It will look shiny until it dries…it dries VERY fast!}

3. Be sure to paint the underside as well.

4. Allow to dry well and then put on jars!

Taaahhhhhhhh-Daaahhhhhh!

I just love these!

They are great to have on hand to take little gifts

to neighbors, teachers, hostess gifts…..

wonderful to take condiments and extras with meals to others.

Great to store herbs and seeds in, as well!

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow for a BIG, FUN giveaway!

We will be 1 !

Blessings~

Sharing with:  Skip to My LouTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsOrganize and Decorate Everything,  2805Making the World CuterThe Girl CreativeCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkFingerprints on the FridgeTatertots & JelloSerenity NowNo Minimalist HereSavvy Southern Style, Coastal CharmMy Romantic HomeRedoux504 Main733 BlogWe Are That FamilyCreating Really Awesome Free Things,  The Charm of HomeDelightsome LifeAnything GoesRooted in ThymePositively SplendidCedar Hill RanchDomestically SpeakingThe Power of Paint

47 thoughts on “Chalkboard Lidded Jars

  1. I too seem to have an obsession with jars (never met one I didn’t like!) and am drawn to anything chalkboard. What a cute way to combine the two things! I will be trying it today also! I’d love to see some of your other uses for jars.
    Janet

  2. What a great idea! I’ve got some great jars waiting to be repurposed, I think I’ll try that. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Chalkboard paint RULES! And is so addictive… “Hmmmm…what ELSE can I paint with this stuff?” Funny how I never thought of lids! GREAT idea, & one that I will certainly do (perhaps as soon as this evening!) GREAT blog Daune, so glad I found you!

    • I have been saving some Natural Peanut Butter jars for this reason too! Think I will try it soon. Do you have any other favorite jars besides pimentos jars?

      • Oh, how fun…they will be great! We love Stonewall Kitchen products and those are wonderful jars. Spaghetti sauce {or any kind of sauce} jars are great, too. We also LOVE the mini carafes that Braswell Salad Dressing comes in…they are great! ANY kind of glass jar with a lid is wonderful. Keith likes the Savannah Bee Company’s White Honey…and it comes in the cutest little jar ever. I also pretty much only use the spices from Williams-Sonoma—they are wonderful! And they come in glass jars that are a great size to reuse. Here are some others we have used: maraschino cherry jars, caper jars, jam/jelly jars, jalapeño jars, pickle jars, Frappuccino bottles etc. When you start thinking of all the possibilities it would be easy to become a jar hoarder! ha!

  4. This is to stinking cute. What a great job. I would love it if you showed it off at my new linky party @ Kampenlane.com.

    I can’t wait to see what else you create.

    ~Taylor

  5. This is a wonderful idea! I save and reuse jars, too. Love the little ones. I’m definitely going to try this. Just found your blog. It’s fun, fresh and informative. I’m following!

  6. Hello! You are way too clever! I’ll look twice at the jars I discard! I have some tins that would look great with this treatment! I appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Love to hear from you guys.......

