Pansies in Our Salad…..

Did you know that pansies are edible?

I run into a lot of people that don’t realize that.

There are actually a lot of flowers that are edible…..

and add so much to salads and other dishes.

We love to add pansies to our salads in the spring.

They add a peppery punch…and look real purty, too.

 Some other flowers that we enjoy eating?

Nasturtiums, day lilies, chive flowers….

Here’s a neat chart of edible flowers that lists

their flavors and the best way to use them.

Have a great day~

Sharing with: Skip to My LouTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsOrganize and Decorate Everything,  2805Making the World CuterThe Girl CreativeCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkFingerprints on the FridgeTatertots & JelloSerenity NowNo Minimalist HereSavvy Southern Style, Coastal CharmMy Romantic HomeRedoux504 Main733 BlogWe Are That FamilyCreating Really Awesome Free Things,  The Charm of HomeDelightsome LifeAnything GoesRooted in ThymePositively SplendidCedar Hill Ranch

20 thoughts on “Pansies in Our Salad…..

  1. Yes I usually buy edible flowers from the farms market I just love the way they make my salad look so pretty. And I just had a V8 moment when you mentioned you were growing them ….so am I and silly me never thought of plucking a few for my salad lol sure will tonight thanks for that

  2. But dont they definitely need to be purely organic from seed to harvest time….I am always so leery of the chemicals potted plants may have received prior to my purchase…. We had edible flowers in the salad at my daughter’s bridal reception…

  3. Thanks so much for the heads up. I did a Squidoo page about Violas and as I was researching I found that they were edible! amazing. Take care, Linda

  4. Yes! They uplift a salad to a whole new level – so elegant. The first time I served pansies in a salad my family though it was just for decoration! So fun! I do appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Love to hear from you guys.......

