Vintage Shave Brush Collection……

I remember watching my grandfather shave with his handheld brush and lather cup…

And I remember watching the men get shaved at the barber shop when I went with my Dad for him to get a haircut.

I always thought those brushes were so neat!

 So, years ago I started my own collection of vintage shave brushes.

 They sit on the window sill of a vintage stained glass window in our master bathroom….and we add to them as we find neat ones.

 My favorites…and most of my collection, is from Europe….pure badger hair with handles made from ivory, wood, bakelite, or brass.

What is something that you like to collect?

Here are a few of our other collections:

Did you know that I collect P?

Printers’ Tray Collections

Signs

Ticket Stubs

Beach Sand

In fact….I think we are a collector of collections around here. ha!

How about you? I love to find out what others collect…..

Blessings~

Sharing with:  Skip to My LouTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsOrganize and Decorate Everything,  Making the World CuterThe Girl CreativeCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkFingerprints on the FridgeTatertots & JelloSerenity NowNo Minimalist HereSavvy Southern Style, Coastal CharmMy Romantic HomeRedouxWe Are That FamilyThe Charm of HomeDelightsome LifeAnything GoesRooted in ThymePositively SplendidCedar Hill Ranch,  House in RosesRook No. 17Elizabeth & Co.Domestically SpeakingThe Power of PaintThe Trendy Treehouse, Faded Charm CottageMichele Raven DesignsJunk in Their TrunkGingersnap CraftsNight Owl CraftingThe Vintage FarmhouseMy Repurposed LifeThe Rooster & the HenShabby NestFinding FabulousThrifty Handmade DaysHomemaker on a Dime

20 thoughts on “Vintage Shave Brush Collection……

  1. I happen to have some vintage shave brushes that I didn’t know what to do with, so I suppose I’ll be collecting those now! Some of my collections are dormant…… I have a rolling pin/pestle collection, an old tin collection, an accidental barber shop scissor collection, an Americana black rag doll collection stuffed in a box, and goodness knows what else hiding in boxes.

    ~Bliss~

  2. I am addicted to collecting pitchers, teapots, teacups, any other tea related items and other pretty glassware. My favorites are the white pitchers and pretty teapots.

  3. This brings back such good memories! I saw some of these at my grandmother’s house. Someone in the family owned a barber shop. I didn’t get the brushes, but I do have a pair of shears. Thanks so much for the photos.
    I collect obsolete slang words–there is never a storage problem for this collection. Your blog is the cat’s meow!

    • What a fun collection, Laurette! I’m not sure where you live…but here in the South, BOY!, would you be able to add to your collection. 🙂

  4. I have my grandfather’s Old Spice china shaving cream mug that would have accompanied a shave brush like yours. Though I never knew my grandfather this item feels so intimate that it has made me feel close to him. Love your brushes.

  5. Very cool textures on those old brushes. Let’s see…I collect nesting dolls, wooden cheese boxes, depression glass and copper molds. All close to the kitchen, too! 🙂

  6. Oh! Wonderful collection!
    I have the collector gene too! I collect vintage children’s dishes… egg cups… glass salt shakers…story books… and I share them in my blog.
    Besos (kisses) from Argentina. Silvina.

  7. Beautiful collection of all your shaving brushes. It’s such a pretty place to put them in front of a stained glass window. Thanks for sharing on Simple & Sweet Fridays.

    Jody

Love to hear from you guys.......

