Summer Mantel {2012}

The sprucifying has continued…….I’ve been changing up everything around here lately.  I decided to paint the mantel white….it was a very old white when we received it as a gift last summer.  {Yes!  A gift! A 200-year-old solid wood mantel from an antebellum home.} We love it……I used Annie Sloan Chalk Paint [my favorite paint] in old white and just dry brushed it on top of the original paint to brighten it up a bit.

 I’ve been in a seashell mood lately….shells are everywhere!

 We stack vintage book bundles inside the fireplace in the spring and summer when we are not going to be using it.  We are a family of bookworms…..so books mean a lot to us.  It keeps the fireplace from being a black hole in the summer.

 I had fun making these European grain sack covered votives.  I’ve collected several 100+ year-old German grain sacks….and I use the edges to cover small glass votives with white candles inside.

 And instead of wood in the basket….there are lightweight summer blankets for some fun movie nights ahead!

 We have only had a mantel for a year…..and have enjoyed being able to change it with the seasons.  What did I ever do without one?

Do you switch things around in your home for different seasons? Or do you like to keep things as they are throughout the year?

Oh, and by the way…..I’ve loved hearing from you guys about the fun memories you have of things you did during the summer growing up!  Keep them coming…..we’ve added some of them to our bucket list because I had forgotten about them and you guys reminded me. 🙂

Happy Thursday~

Sharing the sprucifying with:  Skip to My LouTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogNot JUST a Housewife,  Blue Cricket DesignThe Shabby Creek CottageWhipperberryThe Idea Room,  Between Naps on the PorchFrench Country CottageThe Lettered CottageThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsAt the Picket FenceMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaCommon Ground,  DIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSomeday CraftsOrganize and Decorate Everything,  Making the World CuterCraftomaniacCarolyns HomeworkTatertots & JelloSerenity NowNo Minimalist HereSavvy Southern Style, Coastal CharmMy Romantic HomeRedouxWe Are That FamilyThe Charm of HomeDelightsome LifeAnything GoesRooted in ThymePositively SplendidCedar Hill RanchElizabeth & Co.Domestically SpeakingThe Power of Paint, Faded Charm CottageMichele Raven DesignsJunk in Their TrunkGingersnap CraftsThe Vintage FarmhouseMy Repurposed LifeThe Rooster & the HenShabby NestFinding FabulousThrifty Handmade DaysBlue Cricket DesignVery Merry VintageJAQ StudioThe 36th Avenue

36 thoughts on “Summer Mantel {2012}

  1. This mantle is beautiful! I don’t have a mantle to decorate, but if I did, it would look like this one. You have great taste and everything looks so crisp, clean and beachy!

    • Thank you, Janet! No, I didn’t make it…it was an end-of-the-year present last year from my children {we homeschool…and they said that was their teacher appreciation gift. 🙂 I felt VERY appreciated!}

  2. Very nice, love the stacked books. I am going to do that in my fireplace with the excess books I have that don’t have a home. Great idea.

  3. I think your mantel is my favorite at Beth’s impromptu mantel linky party (and shhhh …. don’t tell the other mantels at the party, okay?).

    Be sure to link it up at Layla’s on Monday (just in case you missed her mantel party announcement) … this is one mantel that needs to be shared!

    🙂

    Linda

  4. Love the idea of stacked books in the black hole of the fireplace. I left mine a big black hole. Let’s see if I can find some old books around here. Thanks for sharing

  5. Hi! Found you on Uncommon Slice of Suburbia and I’m now following you. Your whole mantle/vignette looks amazing!! I’d love you to visit my new blog and say hello 🙂
    Susan

  6. Daune, it’s gorgeous! Straight out of a RH catalog – only better because it’s real! You did an amazing job! I love it!

    It was SUPER exciting to meet you this week!

  7. I love everything about your mantel, but those books in the fireplace put it over the top! I just may have to steal that idea!

  8. Pingback: Home Decorating DIY — Todays Creative Blog

Love to hear from you guys.......

