Drying Hydrangeas

Hydrangeas are one of my very favorite flowers….so we have planted many around our cottage.  When we first found Oak Cottage one of the first things we noticed was the beautiful blue hydrangeas on the side of the house.  No one was living here so we picked the hydrangeas and dried them.  We still have those dried hydrangeas as a reminder of the first time we saw our cottage.

hydrangea drying

There are several ways to dry hydrangeas…I have a friend that literally picks them off the bush, throws them into the trunk of her car on a super hot day; and within 48 hours she has perfectly dried, gorgeous hydrangeas. ha!  I tried this and when I opened my trunk it looked like a hydrangea mass murder had occurred.  It was pitiful.

I know a lot of people that use the water method…….cut hydrangeas, remove all of the stems, place them in a jar/vase with 1/2 water and just let the water evaporate.  When the water evaporates the hydrangeas will be dried.  This method is hit and miss with me.  It has worked a few times, but mostly when I’ve done this my lovely hydrangeas shriveled up and became unrecognizable. ha!, again.

Here’s the method that works every time for me….I suggest you try all of the methods and find the one that works best for you.  None of them are difficult.

hydrangea drying

I wait to cut our hydrangeas at the end of their blooming season {which is right about now for here in Eastern NC}…and as they just begin to lose some of their color.  Once cut I tie 2-3 hydrangeas together with twine and hang them upside down from whatever I can find…..sap buckets, lamps, cabinet knobs….wherever.

drying hydrangeas

They are usually dried within 2-3 days…but I leave them there for about a week.

Right now I have drying hydrangea bundles all over our home…hanging from sap buckets, lamps, easels…….can’t wait to use them!

drying hydrangeas

Drying hydrangeas is super easy…and they last forever once dried.

Do you have any special ways that you like to dry flowers?

Happy Wednesday~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieNot JUST a Housewife,  Between Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic Home,Uncommon Designs

12 thoughts on “Drying Hydrangeas

  1. I’ve used both conventional methods (never tried the car truck, that’s how the Wise Guys take care of “business”) I’ve had good luck with both methods, but think the upside down method retains the best color.

  2. So happy to have found this! I’ve tried the water method and was NOT successful. Don’t understand why it didn’t work. But I am going to try it this way next!

  3. I just dried some using the water method, which worked fine for me and I’ve got a few more I cut yesterday and am using the same method. I just like seeing them in my windowsill while I’m waiting for them to dry. Love the color of yours!

    Blessings,
    Angie @ Knick of Time

  4. I have tried the first 2 methods and like you haven not had that much luck. My hydrangeas on no in full sun, so I wonder if this has some effect. The grocery store I visit and huge ones in full sun, and they completely dried beautifully right on the plant. I snuck out there last fall and cut tons down. Since I want to dry my own also I will give your method a try. Heck, seeing all the hydrangeas hanging around won’t be an unhappy site to me! I wonder if you would share this over at Sunday’s Best tomorrow night. I know others would like to know about this method of drying!

  5. Thank you for this. I keep trying to dry the grocery store variety and just when I think it is going to work, they wilt.
    I think it is what you have said. They need to be older from the shrub. I wish I had a shrub!
    I tried buying some off of e-bay. $75 for about six blooms. Yikes!

    • Oh my! That’s crazy! You know….there are so many people that have hydrangeas in their yards and they are not interested in drying them. Why don’t you stop and ask them if you could pick some of theirs when they start fading a bit?? I bet they wouldn’t mind. 🙂

Love to hear from you guys.......

