DIY Vintage Apothecary Jars

I love apothecary jars….especially the large, oversized ones.

When we decided to redo the master bath and knew the direction we wanted to go in….I knew that apothecary jars would fit right in; and I started looking for vintage ones.

The large, oversized ones that I found that I loved! were well over $100 each.  {And I wanted at least 3!} ha! Hmmmm…….

vintage apothecary jars

So, I decided to use these great, oversized glass jars that we have…we use them in our kitchen….without the lids.  {You can find these jars at Target,  Walmart, etc. in the kitchenware aisles.}

vintage apothecary jars

I printed vintage apothecary labels off of the computer {royalty-free ones} onto card stock [NOT regular computer paper….too wimpy] and then grubbed them up by soaking them in tea and coffee.  When they were dry I affixed them to the jars using matte medium.  While they were drying I put rubber bands around them to hold the corners down.

vintage apothecary jars

vintage apothecary jars

I filled one with French soap from Marseille. One with wooden, natural-bristle nail brushes, and a third, larger one with natural sponges. {I’ll have to show you that one later…it’s not quite ready.} I’ll also have to take better pics….some of these are blurry.

vintage apothecary jars

vintage apothecary jars

I love them!  What do you think?

The only cost in this project would be the jars {ranging from $5-$20) and the matte medium. {Use your Michael’s coupon! or you could use Mod Podge…but I’m not sure it would hold up as well in the humid bathroom.}

Blessings~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieNot JUST a Housewife,  Between Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic Home,Uncommon Designs, Jennifer Rizzo

27 thoughts on “DIY Vintage Apothecary Jars

  1. Love these! I have used Mod Podge on my vintage bottles that are in my bathroom and it has held up fine. I was hoping I would see a titanic label in there! 😉

    • Thanks, Lisa…it’s been fun transforming the bathroom. I didn’t how tired I was of it the other way until we emptied it and started from scratch. So fun! 🙂

  2. Pingback: DIY Link Party #43

  3. These look fabulous! I love that you accomplished a vintage look in a much more inexpensive way. Great graphics choices, too!

    Visiting from your aka design feature 🙂

Love to hear from you guys.......

