Paris Grey Mirror

Still finishing up the details of our master bath redo….can’t wait to be able to have the completed finished project! Woohoo!

I thought I would share this great antique mirror that actually came with our cottage when we bought it….it was in the master bath. It was wood….a dark, mahogany colored finish.  It was not in good shape, so we painted it gold to go with the direction we were taking in the master bath at that time.  We loved the mirror, though….it is over 100 years old and has so much chippy character.

For our new master bath I painted it with chalk paint in Paris Grey, and then used the dark wax as finish.  I love it!

ASCP

Here is the best way to prepare mirrors for painting in my opinion….

I use whatever computer paper I have on hand and tear it into strips…and then slide it underneath the frame all the way around.  {Be sure to tape it….or it will slide and make a mess! Not that that it has ever happened to me, ya know, I was just kinda suggesting it just in case…….}

ASCP

ASCP

ASCP

I love Annie Sloan Chalk Paint!  This entire project took me 20 minutes.  I painted the mirror with Paris Grey, it dried in 10 minutes, I put the dark wax finish on it, and was done!

ASCP

Here’s a few more pics….not great ones, the bath is not quite finished and the lighting was low…..but it will give you the idea.

ASCP

What fun projects are you guys up to this week? My friend just did a vintage desk re-do with ASCP and I’m going to share it with a couple of the small pieces of furniture that I did in the same color soon….she did a great job!

ASCP

Hope you all are having a great week~

Sharing with: Tip JunkieNot JUST a Housewife,  Between Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsMy Uncommon Slice of SuburbiaDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic Home,Uncommon DesignsJennifer RizzoMiss Mustard Seed

19 thoughts on “Paris Grey Mirror

  1. I have a similar mirror that is actually in the color I need right now, but when it gets moved I’ll just paint it up a new color!

    ~Bliss~

  2. I love how your mirrow turned out. You did a great job. It’s difficult to go wrong though when you have a stunning piece to begin with and a great paint in an amazing color. In fact these day’s I’m painting a french hutch in Paris gray and I’m loving how it’s turning out (not finished yet… ran out of Old White which I intend to use for the inside and the details).
    rita

  3. Pingback: DIY Link Party #44

Love to hear from you guys.......

