Potatoes Romanoff {Recipe}

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Todays post is from the archives!  I posted this recipe a year ago…and it almost shut the web down.  Crazy.  To this day it is one of the most popular posts from this blog. It is a wonderful dish….I apologize that the pictures are such poor quality. I took them over a year ago with my old camera. ugh. I’ll have to replace them when I get a chance to take new ones.  Hope you enjoy…..potatoes romanoff

This is a great side to have with grilled steak! {Or anything else. Or by itself. Hot. Cold. Meal. Snack. You get it……}  It’s so yummy I always hope for leftovers so I can have it for breakfast.

POTATOES ROMANOFF

3 large russet potatoes, unpeeled

3/4 cup minced shallots

2 1/2 cups grated white cheddar cheese

2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. freshly ground white pepper

1 1/2 cups sour cream

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Bake potatoes in oven until done—about an hour.  Remove foil and let cool to room temperature.  Put potatoes on a plate, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight.

Grate potatoes, including skins.  You can use a large box grater or a food processor. {I like the food processor!}  Transfer grated  potatoes to a bowl and sprinkle in shallots, 1 3/4 cup cheese, salt, and pepper.

Use your hands to gently toss together. {I guess you could stir–but you would miss all the fun.  Go ahead, plunge those hands down in there!}

Then fold in sour cream.

Transfer mixture to a 1 1/2 quart gratin dish–don’t compress {or squash, or moosh, or squish}!  Sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.

Bake at 350 degrees until the top is golden brown, about 30 minutes.  Serves 6.

Enjoy~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieBetween Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic HomeUncommon DesignsJennifer Rizzo

14 thoughts on “Potatoes Romanoff {Recipe}

  1. I promised myself I would not sign up for one more blog……..BUT anyone who uses Vermont Cabot Cheese has to have good taste. Being a Vermonter, I am kinda partial. Thanks for a great recipe!

    • Kathi~ So glad to have you! Vermont is one of our favorite places…we almost moved there years ago. 🙂 Lots of Vermonters move down here to Eastern NC…I’m amazed at how many we have here in our town. 🙂 Have a great night…..

  2. dear cottage in the oaks …
    i think ive made this recipe at least 13 times … it is surely spectacular … taste and texture !!! just AMAZING … did i mention taste and texture … oh my gosh … my family is crazy for it … whether its in the morning for brunch or in the evening next to skirt steak … next to anything really … they each want their own cassarole …we just want to bury our faces in it …

    thank you thank you thank you !!!! you are wonderful to share this with me as i share it over and over again with all of my peeps … have a wonderful weekend …

Love to hear from you guys.......

