“The Walk” {A Post by Handsome}

Handsome is a great writer…….and he wrote this special ‘allegory’ several years ago. I hope it blesses you as much as it has blessed the others that it has been shared with.

A great reminder of staying close to our Father…and how patient He is with us. Something to ponder for you weekend………

fathers and sons

{source}

The Walk

copyright 2004, Keith Pitman

I can remember early in life when I went for a walk with my Dad.  We walked and talked, sang and laughed, and played—and had lots of fun.  My Dad was bigger than anybody and could do anything.
My Dad was never in a hurry, he walked at my pace.  When I slowed down, so did he.  When I went fast, there he was beside me. I remember times when I would turn circles on our walk.
Sometimes I would do so many I would fall down.  But whenever I did, if I lost site of my Dad, he would be right there beside me; and in his still soft voice say “Here I am”.  Smiling, he would help me up and we would continue our walk.
It was on this walk that all of a sudden I stepped right into a puddle.  Now this was something new. Water splashed up, my feet got wet.  It was a strange feeling—frightening and exciting at the same time.  Whatever the feeling was…I decided I liked it.
I remember looking up and seeing puddles everywhere.  Some big, some small, some clear, some muddy.  It was at this moment that I knew this was going to be fun.  As we continued walking I would step into these puddles on purpose.  Then, the next thing I knew I found myself walking aimlessly along that path being sure not to miss a puddle.
 I shuffled my feet through them, stomped in them, marched in them, baby stepped, ran, hopping, jumping… and any other way I could to pass through them.
AND THEN. There it was…the biggest and muddiest puddle yet seen on that walk.  And without hesitation I jumped right in, sat down, and had a good time.  I splashed and threw mud then I laid down and rolled around.
After a while I remembered that I was on a walk with my Dad.  I stood up and looked the way we had come and didn’t see him.  I guess my Dad knew I was looking for him and in his still soft voice said, “Here I am.” There he was on the other side of that puddle waiting to continue our walk.
I jumped out of the puddle and remember looking in his eyes and seeing disappointment.  Suddenly I was ashamed at what I had done, and could not look at him.  But I remember him wiping me off and cleaning me up.  And when I looked at his face again, there was that smile.
We started walking again and before I knew it I was on the ground.  I had stepped into a hole.  This was something new.  I remember holding my Dad’s hand and jumping over these holes.  Some little, some bigger, some shallow, and some deep.  I jumped over and over these holes.
I had, at sometime during this jump fest, let go of my Dad’s hand.  Not bothered by this I continued jumping over these holes…but now they seemed to get harder to jump over.  I wasn’t sure if Dad had been helping me or was I just getting tired and couldn’t jump as hard.  But whatever the case I had just gotten into a GIANT hole.
I was determined to jump it on my own.  I’d jump and miss, so went back and jumped again.  And I missed again.  Over and over I tried to jump that hole…but could never manage.  I was going to try one more time—and get a running start.  I jumped higher and farther and harder than before; and when I came down I landed flat on my face…not any closer to the other side than any other time.  It was then that I realized that it was my Dad who had been helping jump these holes.  Then I heard it! “Here I am..”  I looked up and there was my Dad ready to help me up, and waiting to continue our walk.
As we started walking again I looked around and saw the most interesting things on both sides of the path.  Beautiful things…natural things like flowers and trees and rocks and animals.  Things I had never, or thought I had never, seen before.  I became distracted and wanted to get a closer look at these things; I went from one side of the path to the other to get a better look.
They were so beautiful that I wondered what I had missed along the way; so I thought I’d go back to make sure I hadn’t missed anything really interesting.  After a while, I remembered that I was on a walk with Dad.  How selfish of me to go back to see the things I didn’t see before…and leave my Dad while I did this.  It was at that moment that I heard these still soft words,  “Here I am”.  I turned around and there was my Dad right there beside me—still ready to walk.
After I turned around, and we started to walk again, I looked around me and saw all the obstacles—the puddles, the potholes, and the distractions.  They all had been there all along…the whole time on the whole walk.  And then I realized that at the beginning of my walk, when all my attention had been on my Dad…the talking, laughing, singing, and playing…all my focus on him, I missed every one of them.  More importantly, I recognized that as long as I’m paying attention to my Dad we seem to miss all the obstacles.
+++++++++++++
Enjoy your walk~
4 thoughts on ““The Walk” {A Post by Handsome}

Love to hear from you guys.......

