Aged Milk Crate…….

We have several of these unfinished wooden crates….and I’ve been wanting to do something fun with them.  I’m thinking I’m going to use them on the porch for autumn….but they needed to be aged.  Many of you may know about staining/aging wood this way; but in case you don’t I thought I would share it with you.

Here’s our crate before….new and unfinished.

staining with vinegar and steel wool

Here’s how it looked after washing it with a vinegar and steel wool ‘stain’.

staining with vinegar and steel wool

The difference I notice with using the vinegar and steel wool over regular stain is that the finish doesn’t look stained….it looks aged.  This crate now looks like it’s from the late 1800’s…instead of just a crate that’s been stained.

This process is super easy! Just soak steel wool in vinegar overnight….and then use it to ‘stain’ your wood. It will smell like crazy….yuck! But after leaving it outside for a bit the smell is totally gone.

vinegar stain

One word of caution…..it kills grass. ha! {But not all the way to the root…after a few days the grass starting coming back.}

staining with vinegar and steel wool

I’m not totally finished with this particular crate….I think I will be adding an old French postmark or French crate markings before putting it to use.  Still deciding. 🙂

Have you ever tried staining with vinegar and steel wool?

Hope you guys are having a super week!

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieBetween Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic HomeUncommon DesignsJennifer Rizzo

10 thoughts on “Aged Milk Crate…….

  1. My hubby and I built a huge farmhouse table with a bench. We used 2 x 10s and 2 x 12s for the top. I wanted it to look like salvaged barn wood so I used the vinegar and steel wool method and then polyurethaned over it. It turned out better than I even imagined! I now have my dream dining room set.

  2. Love. Love. LOVE! I have a crate that’s been sitting in my trunk for MONTHS! I think this aged look will be perfecto. Thx for sharing =D

Love to hear from you guys.......

