Art Journaling…..

Journaling is such an enjoyment to me.  I’ve done it since I was quite young.  We keep up with a few different journals around here…..

there’s mine and Handsome’s Couple Journal.  It is in this book that whomever has it writes a letter or note to the other and leaves it in a place that it will be found.  Then it is the other person’s turn to respond and write an entry back…and leave it to be found.  We’ve poured our hearts out in this journal, argued in this journal, left love notes in this journal, shared aches and pains in this journal……it is worn and has coffee stains on the cover. It’s very special to me.

art journaling

We have our family’s Christmas Journal.  I shared about it here.  Each Christmas everyone gets a turn at writing an entry….about what this Christmas meant to them, what stood out, etc.  Whatever they want to share about the season.

art journaling

Then there’s my favorite……my Art Journal.  There are many ways to keep an art journal.  It can be like a scrapbook and have lovely things taped and glued inside, mixed media, etc. Or, like the one I keep, it can just be written entries alongside drawings.  Sometimes it is just drawings.  Here are some pages from my art journal several years ago……

art journaling

It’s a great place to practice art skills…sometimes I work on lines, ellipses, circles, shading while I make entries…such fun therapy. 🙂

art journaling

I usually take it wherever I go….never know when the urge will strike.

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

I like to use my special drawing pens…and sometimes in different colors…but black is my favorite for my journal drawings.

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

art journaling

Have you ever kept an art journal before? Do you enjoy journaling in another way??

Blessings~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieBetween Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic HomeJennifer Rizzo

12 thoughts on “Art Journaling…..

  1. i don’t keep a journal, I am somewhat embarrassed to share any deep thoughts. I think my everyday thoughts are probably boring to anyone who might read them. However, my father in law kept a journal for many, many years. I saw a different side of him after reading his accounts of his years in a new job for the US Forest Service when he was in his 20’s.

    Your journal is lovely but then again, you must admit, it is so beautiful because you are so creative. You have a way with words and you are obviously naturally artistic. I am envious.
    It’s truly beautiful.

    • Judy….I feel the same way about my thoughts. Sometimes so random. But I think my journal is just for me and just don’t worry about it. It’s a great way to get the cobwebs out of my head or just vent or ramble. Thank you so much for your kind words….they blessed my day! 🙂 Hugs…..

  2. Would to keep an art journal….have not ever really though of that? I have kept journals only to rip the pages out of them years later because I never wanted my children to find them. Yes, there are thoughts and feelings I NEVER want my children to read. That makes me sad. I love to draw and I really love art – I draw and paint….thank you for reminding me of this. Your journal is really beautiful. I love to journal and write scripture also. My old journals were prayers to the Lord – wish I had a safe place….anyway, thank you for reminding me….

    • I totally understand. Sometimes in my journal it is me puking with words. ha! I enjoy looking back through mine every so often and seeing all the many answered prayers…or how far I’ve come in certain situations and things that have been overcome. It’s a great thing to do when I start feeling like things aren’t changing or my prayers aren’t being answered. Oh, I bet your drawings are wonderful….you could start an journal with your drawing and painting and not even use words. It could be like secret code….you would know what was behind the drawing/painting, but no one else would. 😉

  3. Your journal artwork is so beautiful! I’ve kept written journals in the past. Now I keep ideas I have for music and acting in a file folder–ideas, inspiration, quotes from entertainers that inspire me in my own work, even costuming ideas and staging ideas. It’s sort of a journal of my random ideas, but I use them often to help me when I need ideas for a new show or an new interpretation of a song or a role.

Love to hear from you guys.......

