Picaso Roll-Up Shade…..

When Handsome and I were newly married we lived in a townhouse in which all the windows had vinyl roll-up shades.  At first I thought I would just have to take them down….but then I started really liking them.  They provided complete  privacy at night, and in the day they completely rolled up and disappeared so all the wonderful natural light could flood in.

But the blah whiteness had to go. {I love white….but plain, white roll-up shades just had no personality.} So, you know what I did! Yep, I painted all of them. We had 10 windows…and in each room I did something a bit different. The one I am sharing today was in the half bath on the stair landing.  I painted a fun Picaso-ish face. {I probably shouldn’t have put the face in the bathroom….at night you always felt like you were being watched. ha!}

vinyl roll up shade

For some of the others I painted a silhouette scene on top of a marbleized back, some had striped colors, etc. They turned out great.  We brought some of them with us when we moved into Oak Cottage and use them as hanging wall art now.  This Picaso-ish one hangs in our office and covers the utility/fuse box.

This is a great, cheap project that really adds a lot of character to a room.  Teens would love it! Vinyl roll-up shades are so inexpensive they could easily change designs on a whim.

roll-up shade

When I paint or draw on vinyl shades I use acrylic paint….and to draw I use Sharpie permanent markers. Spray paint also does very well….sometimes better than acrylic.  Be sure you do not put the paint on in thick coats. {For the Picaso-ish shade I’m showing today I used Sharpie permanent markers exclusively…and no paint.}

Be sure to allow your design to dry very well…..at least 48 hours before rolling them up. If a lot of sunlight comes through the window you may want to seal your design with spray acrylic sealer.

What do you think?

Blessings~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieBetween Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic HomeJennifer Rizzo

16 thoughts on “Picaso Roll-Up Shade…..

  1. How I would LOVE to do that to my windows, except that I have “blinds”, ugh (so had to keep clean from dust). I love the one you did for the bathroom and would love to see the others!! Your husband must be really accepting of your creativity – mine would have a “fit” 😦 How I would love to live in a cottage in the Oaks, any cottage for that matter. I too am in a townhouse and have been for 20 years!
    Take care,
    Debbie

Love to hear from you guys.......

