Turning Toward the Light…..

I don’t know about you…but I sometimes focus on the things that aren’t really important. I can get caught up in circumstances and how things seem….and trying to do things through my own strength. On my own. Focusing on my abilities and weaknesses…and letting them determine the success or failures of my days or weeks.

I lose perspective.

I get off track.

And I wear myself out.

Those of you that have been with me for a while know how much I LOVE hydrangeas.  Our garden is full of all kinds…. and when they are in bloom our cottage is filled with them.

Several weeks ago I had them in every room …. and they were all so pretty.  Big, beautiful blooms standing tall and brightening every spot that they graced.

But there was this little one. It was a bit different. It was just as beautiful as all the others…but it didn’t seem to be trying to impress anyone or show off its beauty.

No matter where I put it, it turned toward the light. I would turn it around and by the end of the day it had craned its beautiful neck to turn back to wherever the strongest amount of light was.

After a week or so all the other hydrangeas around the house had dried or wilted…they were spent and needed to be replaced. They had been beautiful, and strived and toiled each day to appear so.

But this little one….that turned toward the light? Well, it stayed fresh and beautiful for over 6 weeks! It never wilted. When it did dry…..it kept its full color and was still standing tall.

I learned a lot from this little hydrangea. I need to be like this little hydrangea. I need to keep my focus on the Light {God} and not on what is going on around me. If I keep my focus on Him no matter what the circumstances……I won’t wilt. I won’t lose my color. I will keep the right perspective through all situations.

I don’t need to try to figure everything out. I just need to stay focused on the One that already has it figured out.

As stubborn and hard-headed as I am……this little hydrangea got through to me. 😉

Refocusing~

8 thoughts on “Turning Toward the Light…..

  1. Oh how I needed to hear this today. I have tears running down my face as I type this. Thank you for the important reminder. I can’t express how much it means to me.

Love to hear from you guys.......

