Porches ::: The Soul of the Home

If the kitchen is the heart of the home…..

then I think the porch is the soul.

You can tell so much about the person or family that lives in a home by their porch.  It is the spot that either welcomes or turns away. It’s the first ‘room’ that visitors encounter. It’s an embrace, a “Come in…we’re so glad that you are here!”.

Yep…..you can tell so very much about people from their porches…..it reflects the soul of the home to which it belongs and the people that live there.

We LOVE our front porch……we sometimes call it the Therapy Room. Handsome used to say that when he would come home from work he could tell what kind of day it had been…..by how high I was swinging on the porch swing. Really high would get a “Hi, Baby……I think I left something at work….I’ll be back in a bit!”  Slow and easy swinging would get a “Hey, Baby…..I’m so glad to be home….I missed you.” *smack!* 😉

We eat meals on our porch, read, visit, ponder, etc. on our porch.  We’ve even come home to find others on our porch…..I think it’s become a place of ministry! ha!

I had fun gathering some porches that I think are so inviting……

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

Front Porch

{source}

And can’t you just imagine the stories that THIS porch could tell……oh, how I would love to hear them…….

Front Porch

{source}

Do you have a porch? Is it a special place to you and your family?

Happy Monday~

8 thoughts on “Porches ::: The Soul of the Home

  1. I need to redecorate my porch! I can’t decide which of the ones pictured are my favorite, but that last one—oh, how I wish it could talk, and I could be there to listen!

  2. Those are beautiful! I long to have a big porch one day with rocking chairs and pretty pillows on a porch swing. *sigh* 🙂

  3. My porch had duck doo on it because my daughters crapping quackers kept visiting the door when they heard our voices. And nothing says welcome like duck doo! We have remedied the problem.

    ~Bliss~

Love to hear from you guys.......

