Autumn ::: Perfect Time for a Good Read

Reading is such a pleasure to me……I love to curl up with a good book and get lost in it.

I kept thinking about doing a post on my favorite books….and that would just be impossible. There’s hundreds of them!

I love the classics. I love really great writers that create characters you relate with and feel like you know. So…..I had a dilemma….there is no way I could share all of my favorite books that I’ve read.  There are too many in every category.

So, I thought that I would just share a few that lately I’ve been in the mood to read….or at least wish the authors would get with it and publish another soon! Autumn is such a great time to curl up under your favorite blanket, grab a cup of coffee/hot chocolate/tea, and get lost in a wonderful story.

When I first heard of The Mitford Series it sounded like something I really wouldn’t like….so I just didn’t pay attention.  However, it did intrigue me that the whole series was based on one of my favorite towns…Blowing Rock, NC. We go there as often as possible. 🙂

Several years ago I was trying so hard to find a good book…..I was in the mood for a great story; I didn’t want to read a book about ‘how to be a better mom/wife/friend/person’. I just wanted a fun story that spoke to me.

I bit the dust and bought the first Mitford Series book: At Home in Mitford. I was quickly hooked….and within 3 months had read all 9 books in the series. Jan Karon is a fabulous writer and knows how to spin a tale. While in Blowing Rock a few years ago we got to meet her….and she is a gem.

great autumn reads

A couple of years ago I was, once again, searching for a fun story……and found these 3 books by a new author, Jennifer Valent:

Fireflies in December

great autumn reads

Cottonwood Whispers

great autumn reads

Catching Moondrops

great autumn reads

Great stories that my daughters fell in love with, as well. They are set in the 30’s….and are full of great characters. So glad I picked that first one up!

For some deep soul-searching and encouragement…..I love all of Ken Gire’s books.  He has written over 20…and they are all such wonderful ministry.  They will touch places in your heart that you didn’t know existed. You can find them here.

Some of my favorites:

Do you have any great stories or books that have ministered to you in special ways?  I’d love to hear about them….I’m on the hunt for a good book these days!

Enlighten me…I need suggestions~

8 thoughts on “Autumn ::: Perfect Time for a Good Read

    • Oh, Jennifer! We love them…..we have given them as gifts to our other bookworm friends. Our daughters have shared them with all their friends….everyone thinks they are a treasure. Thanks so much for sharing your talent with us. 🙂 {I’m ready for the next one….and it looks like it is set in the 40’s? My very favorite time period! :)}

      • That’s absolutely heartwarming to hear! I can’t thank you enough for not only reading the books but for sharing them with so many others. It means more than you may know to have readers spread word of the books they enjoy. The next one is, indeed, set in the 40’s, a few years after the end of WWII. Hopefully, we’ll find a place on the shelves for it sometime in the not too distant future. Thank you again for everything!!

Love to hear from you guys.......

