On an Adventure……..NYC Bound!

{source}

In the wee hours of the morning today I headed to NYC with my #1 Son {a.k.a. Handsome, Jr.} I am so excited to share a very special place in my heart with him!  We’ve been planning for a long time, and I can’t believe it is here.  We will be in the city that never sleeps for the next four days…..and it’s going to be a great adventure. You can follow our adventures on instagram, if you’d like…..right here. {@cottageintheoaks} Or you can scan this with your phone:

It’s his senior year……and we’ve wanted to do some special things with him this year.  I think we do a lot of special things with our kids….but we wanted to do some really special, super, standout things during this Senior year. {He’s also headed to China in a few weeks!}

{source}

I have taken each one of our daughters to NYC individually and now it’s #1 Son’s turn! I have treasured the trips and adventures that I’ve had with each of our children individually…..traveling with just one at a time is a very special adventure. Ones that I {and I hope they} will treasure forever.

{source}

Even if you take them to the exact same place….it is like 3 different trips. It is so wonderful to see what makes their eyes sparkle, where they see beauty, what excites them, what draws them in………..seeing through their eyes and hopes – right to their hearts.

{source}

I want my children to have deep roots…not shallow. I feel that part of having deep roots involves travel and new experiences and adventures.

{source}

With each new adventure you learn more about your place in the world, who you are, your purpose, your heart’s desires. It adds another dimension.

{source}

I was so blessed to do a great amount of traveling all throughout my whole life….even from a very young age. It has been an important part of polishing who I am; and has always been my best teacher.

Travel…whether just to another city or state..or to a whole other country gets us out of ourselves…to see beyond where we are individually. It gets us out of our comfort zones and can test us, energize us, help us live beyond ourselves.

Have you ever been to NYC? What is your favorite area/restaurant/thing to do there?

I am sure my 17-year-old will want to check out the Apple Store on 5th Ave.

{source}

If you have never been….it’s a fun experience.  You enter a clear glass ‘tube’ and descend into the ground….which is where the store is located. I’ve been there several times…and it’s still fun. 🙂

Hope you are having a super week~

2 thoughts on “On an Adventure……..NYC Bound!

  1. This is so inspiring! I’m so looking forward to building the same types of memories with my little ones. Have a wonderful trip!

Love to hear from you guys.......