A Well-Lived Dash…..

I had a fun something to share with you guys today…but I can’t remember what it was.

Today my grandmother passed away. I knew it would happen one day. But I didn’t know it would be today. I was blessed to be with her when she passed.

We were close from the time I was born.

She climbed trees with me. She swam laps with me. She played silly games with me. She traveled across the continental US with me. Hiked in Saskatchewan with me. Stayed in a cabin in the Canadian woods with me. We ran down hills into rivers together. She was almost arrested when she was going to let me pull a slot machine in Vegas when I was only 9. She wore necklaces that blinked and lit up.

She was at my every performance. She encouraged me at every turn. She never hesitated to straighten me out when needed.

She cooked huge meals for whomever wanted to join in…everyone was welcome. She helped people that didn’t deserve to be helped and those that did. She always smiled.

I brought a friend home from college with me for Easter dinner one year. My grandmother had on a lovely white pantsuit….with some kind of crazy socks. She wanted to show us something and when she bent over I noticed through her lovely, crisp, white pants that she was wearing leopard underwear. I said, “MaMa! You have on leopard underwear and white pants!” She replied:

“Of course! It’s Easter!”

I still haven’t quite figured that out…..but it still brings giggles to my heart. She was that kind of grandmother….a leopard underwear, mismatched socks, crazy outfit, out-of-the-box kind of lady. Everyone that met her….loved her. She loved the Lord with all her heart.

Her life was full and with absolutely no regrets. She poured love and never held back.

Behind her name now:

July 11, 1927 October 16, 2012

The most important part of that is the smallest: the dash. The dash covers it all……and she lived her dash well.

I hope I can carry on that heritage.

I will miss you, MaMa!

I may be missing in action for a few days as I help my family sort and plan. I would be honored for you to keep us in your prayers.

Blessings~

17 thoughts on “A Well-Lived Dash…..

  1. Grandma’s are a true blessing, and yours sounded very special. I am terribly sorry for your loss and I will keep you and your entire family in my prayers as you go through this difficult time.

  2. Your lovely tribute speaks volumes. The very fact that your grandmother was such a loving, giving woman is relected in you. She helped shape YOU into the lovely person you are.
    I’ve lost both my grandmothers (parents as well) so I feel your pain. I’ve had friends over the years who say their grandmothers were less than loving and to me that is almost unimaginable since all my life (and I’m now officially old) I thought Grandmas, Grammies, Grannies, etc., were supposed to be the “go to” people when you needed love, good food, and comfort. Those who’ve had such grandmas have been truly blessed !
    P.S. Where was the picture of your and your grandmother taken?…..I notice the LEOPARD PRINT wallpaper .!!!.

  3. I laughed and cried through this whole post. She called me not long ago to talk and laugh about our favorite story …you know the one. We had a great laugh. She was absolutely one of my favorite people.

  4. You and your family are in my prayers. You have been blessed beyond measure to have had her as your grandmother, she is the kind of woman that I strive to be. (I am now in search of leopard print underwear for Easter!) Thank you for sharing her with us. Take Care and God Bless, love, t.xoxoox

  5. What a wonderful grandma. You have so many great memories. I liked the underwear and mixed socks. I love that she climbed trees with you. I lived next door to my grandma. It was so hard when we lost her. Treasure your time with the family and honoring such a special person. She was beautiful just like you.

  6. So sorry for your loss. Your grandmother sounds like an amazing woman!! I’m sure all of those wonderful memories will help you and your family through this difficult time.

  7. Thank you for your lovely thoughts. Your photo is beautiful and full of life and the shows the depth of your relationship with your grandma. May you be comforted and strengthened each day…

  8. My heart goes out to you and your family. My grandmother was my second mother and the rock in my life as well. It is obvious that as she poured her love and joy into your heart and throughout your life, it took root and the fruit of your own life bears resemblance. Heaven isn’t so very far away, Dawn. And you just have to know, she’s up in heaven with the angels wearing that leopard underwear. Blessings to you, peace to your heart and soul.

  9. I am so sorry for your loss.Your grandmother sounds a lot like mine. She will live in your heart forever.My prayers for you.

  10. I only stumbled across your blog today while looking for fall front porch inspiration.

    I had a wonderful relationship with my grandmother. Your tribute to her is so touching, it brought tears to my eyes. Here, some woman I don’t know, is making me weepy. What a blessing and a wonderful, incredible relationship you got to have. I’m sure you’ll make many tributes to her in the rest of, what I hope will be, your very long life.

    My sincere condolences. She sounds like she left quite a legacy. 🙂

    Alana
    Nest Vintage Modern

  11. What a beautiful picture of the two of you. Very sweet rememberances. I have enjoyed reading through your blog today. It is lovely…speaks well of the loveliness inside you that comes out in your pictures and words. Blessings,
    Debbie

Love to hear from you guys.......

