Burlap Curtains

Burlap is one of my favorite things to use….just under European grain sacks….anywhere I need fabric in our home. Ever since we started the living room redo a year ago I’ve been looking for just the right thing to put on the windows.  They are very large windows and cross the entire front of our cottage.

I found these great rope tiebacks at an outlet type store….and I knew that whatever I did to the windows I wanted to use them! And, of course, rope leads straight to burlap in my mind. 🙂

I wanted the curtains to be very sheer…didn’t want to cover up the view or block the natural light. {I LOVE natural light….don’t like lamps too much.}

We ran across these wonderful rolls of landscape burlap at an old general store when we were out of town one day….and I knew they were perfect! They are a very loose-weave burlap. They are 3′ x 12′ each and only cost $6.00 a roll. ha! Cannot beat that. Curtains for 3 large windows only cost $36.

We loaded up on 6 rolls and they’ve been waiting in a closet for a few months …… waiting for me to get to them and make curtains. Last week I got out the sewing machine, started sewing, and my machine decided to stop working. Grrrrrrr. I was determined to get these curtains up. SO, I whip-stitched the top seam……and hung them on the rods, trimmed the bottom a bit longer than the floor, and then……YEP, I hot glued the hem! Done. {If you’ve been reading this blog for a while you know how I feel about sewing machines. It’s bittersweet and doesn’t always bring out the best in me.}

From start to finish I made floor-length curtains for 3 large windows in under an hour. And….I love ’em. Thank you whip-stitch and hot glue! You know, it actually looks better than if I had sewn them on the machine.  You do not see a seam anywhere. All things work together for good, you guys! 😉

What have you been doing in your home lately?

Covered in burlap fuzz~

Sharing with:  Tip JunkieBetween Naps on the PorchThrifty Decor ChickFunky Junk InteriorsDIY ShowoffHome Stories A to Z a.k.a. DesignSerenity NowSavvy Southern StyleMy Romantic HomeJennifer Rizzo

2 thoughts on “Burlap Curtains

Love to hear from you guys.......

