Burning the Year…… {2012}

For as long as I can remember I have had a special tradition on New Year’s Eve each year.

year of calendar pages

I sit down and look back over the past 12 months, reading what happened or was scheduled on each day…..and then I make a great fire in the fireplace and burn the pages of my calendar/planner a few hours before midnight.

burning the year

For years I had those big day timer-type planners….you know, they weighed, like, 20 pounds!? But several years ago I switched over to a digital version that syncs with all our devices. It was hard for me to do…I had this weird feeling that cyberspace was going to eat my important reminders, or they were going to fall into some kind of black hole. But, once I got used to it….I loved it. So, now, I print out the past year on December 31st….so I will have pages to burn.

It’s a great way to say “It is finished!”…. some years I would have gladly burned in August; and some years I hated to burn because they had been so spectacular…I wanted to hold onto them a little longer.  By looking over the happenings of the the past 12 months I am reminded of prayers that were answered, accomplishments, celebrations that were had, disappointments that were overcome or redeemed…and prayers that need to continue into the next year.

There have been years that I would sit on New Year’s Eve and think, “Oh, no….another one! You mean I have to do it again?” {Meaning get through another year!} Most years, though, I am so excited to start fresh….a new horizon, new opportunities await, a blank slate for new adventures…..

I have to admit that the past several years have been more of the “Oh no! Here we go again! Lord, help me…..” feeling. But, this year…..I’m back to being excited. I think the best is yet to come and 2013 holds many new things headed our way. I’ve also heard God whisper the past several days….. ‘I’m doing a new thing, Daune….’ That’s exciting! It has me in suspense, watchful, eager to see His plans unfold. I’m feeling that maybe I’m being given a new song…………we’ll see!

Does anyone else choose a word of the year? I’m still working on mine for 2013…I’ve got it narrowed down to a few. You can read about my word for 2012 here. I don’t make resolutions for the new year; but I do pick a word that I feel is something that I should focus on throughout the year. {You can read about my word of the year for 2013 here.}

How are you feeling about the new year? “Oh no!” or “Oh, yes!” I’d love to pray for you in this new year. You can leave any requests in the comments….or, if you’d rather, feel free to send them to me by email: cottageintheoaks [at] me [dot] com

What’s on your heart for the New Year??

By the fireplace~

IMG_0001

8 thoughts on “Burning the Year…… {2012}

  1. I love this post, Daune! It feels like you are sitting here having coffee with me & sharing your heart. You have a great gift, & I’m happy to have found your blog so you can share it with me. I have never had a word of the year, but I love the idea, so I’ve been mulling it over, and I think my word for 2013 will be “DO”. I am so bad about having lots of ideas & plans, but never putting feet to my thoughts. This year, I vow to DO things differently!
    If you don’t mind, please pray for me to find my place in this world. I have 2 grown children who are married & on their own, one perfect grandchild whom I babysit part-time, a dear husband with his own business (for which I keep the books), and a church & friends, etc,etc. But for the last several years, I have prayed for vision as to what to do with the rest of my life. I thought about going back to school, or maybe getting a real estate license, or several different things. I just feel like I need a purpose, but God has been kind of quiet with an answer to this dilemma. It would be nice to know how He wants me to use my time.
    Thank you, and have a blessed 2013!!

    • Juanita….what a great word! I love it! I understand, too….I have a plethora of ideas that sometimes cause me to get more of the ‘deer in the headlights’ syndrome. I have to remind myself to act on them. 🙂

      I will be honored to pray for you…it sounds like you are in a very different season; but a very exciting one, as well. 🙂 Maybe God is quiet because you are doing exactly what He wants you to with your time right now. 🙂 ??? I will pray that 2013 will be a special year for you….and that you will know exactly what you are supposed to be doing. Much Love~ Daune

  2. I don’t pick a word of the year and any resolution I pick is something quirky that I need to do but is attainable (like last year using up all the shampoos I have) or something I should do to be a better person (like not yell at my family when I feel stressed). I am always excited for a new year, but a little weepy that another one is over.

    Bliss

  3. I usually pick a New Year’s resolution that is fun to do. Last year was more travel. I am sticking to that one again. I guess if I were to pick a word it would be FLY. This way I could use it in many aspects of my life.
    So glad I got to meet you this year! Hope you have an Oh yes! Year!!!
    Happy New Year!

  4. What a lovely tradition!! I think my word for this year is CHOOSE. Choose to say no, choose to say yes, choose to refuse, choose to spend, choose to save. In other words, to stop letting other people or their needs/wishes interfere with my ability to please myself. Not in a selfish way, but to remember that each of us is ultimately responsible for our own daily choices, and when others make bad choices, consistenly, it is not my purpose to “fix” it for them!!!

Love to hear from you guys.......

