My Word of the Year {2013}

For a few weeks now I’ve been thinking and praying about what my word for 2013 should be. I’ve had it narrowed down to a couple for a week or so……

You can read about my Word of the Year for 2012 here.

I’m definitely a goal-setting person…so I always have a list of goals in different areas of my life that I would like to reach; but I don’t ever set New Year’s resolutions. I usually pick a word that I think would be a great word to focus on throughout the year as I go about working toward those goals that have been set. Personal goals, business goals, spiritual goals, DIY goals, financial goals, family goals, etc.

My word this year is Regroup.

word of the year

Yes, I know …. it is not very exciting. I think that’s why I kept looking for another word. But I was looking at it all wrong. It sounded like a dud….but every time I went to pray about my word for the year, that’s the one that kept coming to me. I have to be honest….I said ‘ugh’. The other word that I really wanted was ‘Expectant’….now THAT’S a fun word!

But then I gained a new perspective. Handsome and I are being led to make some changes…some big and some small. I’ve owned a couple of large, nationwide businesses for many years…..and we are closing one down this year. It’s not the direction we are supposed to go in…..the Lord has something different for us. It’s time to close that chapter and take that time, effort, and the resources that were being poured into that venture into something better. {We don’t actually know what the heck the ‘better’ is…but that’s what we’ve been told, and so we’re going with it.}

In order to make those changes we need to REGROUP. Regroup priorities, thoughts, ideas, directions, goals…..lots of areas need to be regrouped to make way for those changes.

Actually….we need to REGROUP, so we can stand EXPECTANT. That excites me. If I’m regrouping in order to be able to be expectant…well, then, that elevates REGROUP from a dud to a launching pad of excitement and expectancy.

Webster defines REGROUP as:

1. to reorganize for renewed activity {oooooo, I like this one!}

2. to alter the tactical formation

3. to stop and think, to reorganize

4. to stop for a short time and prepare yourself {be expectant!}

So, that’s what we’ve been doing around here the past week or so….beginning to regroup. I’m excited. I’m going to take my word from last year “Intentional” and make sure to pair it with my word for this year……make sure that I intentionally regroup as we go about our year.

The winds are a-changin’ and I think I like it. 🙂

Anyone else have a word for 2013?

Happy Monday, Friends~

IMG_0001

Linking to The Lettered Cottage’s word of the year!

2 thoughts on “My Word of the Year {2013}

  1. What a great idea – I never thought of doing this. I know for sure that if you have the Lord leading you and Handsome in this – you can not fail.

Love to hear from you guys.......

